USS Kitty Hawk Message Board

Welcome to our new message board, a place to connect with long lost shipmates.

USS Kitty Hawk Message Board
Start a New Topic 
Author
Comment
View Entire Thread
Re: Re: Re: SLEP

You must remember the Kitty Hawk Boot camp Company that came aboard will it was still in dry dock and then left for sunny Florida. Was part of that boot camp co.

Re: Re: SLEP

I WENT THROUGH SLEP THEN SAILED HER TO CALI. I WAS A MACHINIST. WAS GOING TO BE A YARDBIRD WHEN I FINISHED MY TOUR. UNTIL IT CLOSED DOWN.

Re: Re: Re: SLEP

I remember you Mike I worked in the sheet metal shop
with lee milam and was friends with shousky "Jake"

HT2 bates

Re: Re: Re: Re: SLEP

I worked with Bob too. I was in the pipe and sheet metal shops from. Remember Johhnu Kuhl. Funny guy. Jake was a good guy, I havent seen him in years though. I think he still lives in Philly.
HT2 Brian McKendry

Re: SLEP

I reported onboard the Kitty Hawk in Dec of 1988 at PNSY during SLEP and left the Kitty Hawk when my enlistment was up in July 1992. I served on the "In Port Fire Party" while at PNSY and I was also the electrician on the "At Sea Flying Squad" under Fire Marshal CW04 Mike Wilson.

Re: Re: SLEP

I too was on board for most of that slept period.
Long long winters but never a regret.
I was there as young seaman and even though I went on to retire from the Navy I'll remember
every moment I spent on board on the Kitty.

So she had a SLEP at the end of the 80's too. I was onboard for the SLEP in Bremerton WA at the end of 81 are so. Is there any OS's around from that time?

Re: SLEP was there untill oct 88

need to find a W02 Robert Wilkinson. worked in egineering and was a dam fine boiler person. do you know where he is and how to reach him? also looking for a better site that has all Kitty Hawk shipmates on it. send it to me if you know. dam fine ship and am glad i served on it.

Do you remember an HT2 Linhart?